Sukkot? More than an invitation to ‘share a meal’?


I am well aware, of course, and have known for some years, that the mitzvah (command) to ‘build a sukka’ applies only to those actually ‘living in the land’ ie Israel. (Lev 23:42)

Which is good really, because living in a flimsy shed that is open to the elements in autumnal England is not really the wisest of ideas if one expects to retain one’s health.

Obeying the spirit of the Law

So rather than apply the literal rabbinical traditions concerning how one’s sukka should look or be built, we have done, as many others do – looked at obeying the Law ‘in spirit’. For several years years we visited my sister in Tenerife. This year we elected to stay at home.

So our sukka whilst not halachally correct – offers me temporary shelter from the elements, sun, wind and rain. A place where I can go and sit in quiet and peace and do my daily readings.

Except yesterday I was not happy.

I felt hemmed in. Shut off from the outside world. For me that is a MOST unusual feeling. Normally I am quite content with my own company. Whilst I was sitting frowning, I remembered from somewhere that Avraham sat in an open sided tent – on the lookout, we are told, for weary travellers that he might welcome them and feed them.

So, I opened the curtains. Immediately I brightened. From my position I had a good command of the garden and the driveway. Just in case a weary (and probably unsuspecting) visitor should happen to chance my way.

As you can see, I received two little visitors. The one sitting on the table is my shadow. Where I go, H goes.

But this little one – whom I have named Smokey-Blue is a waif and stray. He is hungry, got fleas, is mega thin and scraggy and only after long months of patience will now allow me to stroke him. As long as I feed him.

The Traditions of Hospitality

I think one of the most fascinating things that I have yet discovered is the concept of hospitality amongst the ancient Near Eastern cultures.

In Travelers and Strangers: ‘Hospitality’ in the Biblical World by Dennis Bratcher

The traveler had few legal or political rights in the ancient world. He was largely at the mercy of the residents where he journeyed. By accepting the traveler, especially in providing him food and sharing that food with him, the host also took the responsibility of protecting him. The story of Lot offers graphic evidence of the importance of protection. Lot offered his virgin daughters to an angry mob rather than betray the guests “who have come under the shelter of my roof” (Gen 19:8, RSV). In another instance, an old man pleaded with the men of his town not to harm a traveling Levite because “this man has come into my house” (Judges 19:23, RSV). Likewise, the traveler, by accepting the hospitality of the host, was responsible to honor the host and refrain from any hostile actions against him or his household (note these tensions in 1 Sam 25).

The sharing of food together was a token of friendship, a form of covenantal commitment. One of the most despicable acts in the ancient world was to eat with someone and then betray them (Obadiah 7; Psa 41:9)

My thought for today

I find myself wondering then about the connection of the Feast of Tabernacles and HaShem’s desire to ‘dwell amongst His people’. I wonder if Sukkot could be described as an invitation by ADONAI Elohim to all weary travellers to come and eat with Him. To rest with Him. To be part of His family?

to be continued at a later date……

Interesting Links:

How to celebrate Sukkot: Seed of Abraham

Hospitality in the Ancient Near East

Saga Journal: Kind Enough To Offer Us Shelter: Hospitality In The Star Wars Saga

Author: Ahavah

This sums me up perfectly. Child of Adonai Elohim. Saved by the Grace of God through faith. Yeshua is HaMaschiach. Truth Seeker.

Leave a comment