As Sukkot 2014 begins……..

It’s been a long time since my last post – yet I am peaceful and tonight for a long time I feel compelled to put fingers to the keyboard and note down my thoughts as – for me – Sukkot 2014 begins – well really just now…..  I can see the sun slowly sinking from my sitting room window as I type but as of yet the first stars have yet to appear.

Over the years I have grown to love these Moedim – or appointed times of our Heavenly Father.  Each feast day brings a new revelation of His Love for each of us, His concern over behaviour (mine) and His Blessings that fall upon us when we are obedient.

Tonight is no exception – and my thoughts are filled with His Words that have filled my very being.

On Yom Teruah – His Word came ‘the Time of the Gentiles is now complete’.

On Yom Kippur – His Word came ‘Death – not so much in the physical sense but more of a …

In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength. Isaiah 30:15 (NIV)

Did you know that the biblical word for personal change is repentance? Most people misunderstand the term. The popular conception of repentance is “Stop sinning! Quit doing bad things!” But the word actually means to change your mind. So what kind of repentance did I need? It is time to change my perspective, to think in a different way, make a mental U-turn? I know that when I change my mind, my behavior will follow because repentance starts in the mind, not in actions.  As so – for me – this was a prod to get my act together about my eating habits.

Perhaps I should be blunt here…….. lets call a spade a spade…..  it IS time to get my act together and give GREED the boot from my life.. more on that topic later.

For now tonight – Sukkot has arrived.

May our Heavenly Father bless each one of you.

with love Ahavah xx

Leave a Reply

